Cafe&Meal Muji : Japanese Home Cook Experience

As what everyone does in the end of the year, I was pretty busy on the past few weeks either it was for “wrapping up 2016” or making 2017 resolution. Last week was a period where I was so in the mood for reorganizing my room to welcome new year. Hence, I went to shop new organizers at Muji, a Japanese retail shop which sells wide variety of consumer and household goods that Anissa would refer has oshare design. Specifically, I went to the Muji shop located at 5F of BAL Kyoto. At the same building, Muji Cafe&Meal is also available.

When I first entered the place I was quite confused since it only provides menu with Japanese. Overall, we can order two types of dishes; hot and cold deli. These cold and hot deli menu is changing everyday. Cold deli is literally cold, mostly salad and side dishes which priced 240¥. Main dish is included in the hot deli which priced 280¥. However, you can also purchase a set with 2 hot deli and 2 cold deli including bread or rice with 1000¥, or 850¥ set with 1 hot deli and 2 cold deli including bread or rice. I chose the second set with one sesame fried mackerel, caesar salad, and one cold dish (which I forgot the name) with fish and olive oil sauce. Because I stay for quite long to do my homework, I also ordered a dessert set of matcha new york cheesecake and a coffee.

Just like the Ikea Restaurant concept which offers Sweden typical menu, Cafe&Meal Muji offers a Japanese style home cook menu; one cup of rice, three or four small portion of dishes with a misho soup and hot green tea. The flavor was not something unexpected as I tried Japanese home cook before. Nevertheless, I can say it represents what Japanese eat at home so it will be an experience if you are a tourist visiting Japan as the price is cheaper than most washoku restaurants. As for the matcha NY cheesecake, I would say 4 out of 5 stars for the flavor. In fact, I like it a lot that I look for the recipe on their website.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Entrance

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Cold Deli Menu
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Hot Deli Menu
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Muji-like Interior
img_4135
You can reserve your seat before ordering your meal

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Match NY Cheesecake set with coffee

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

 

Cafe&Meal Muji

Website : http://cafemeal.muji.com/jp/

Location :

〒604-8032 Kyōto-fu, Kyōto-shi, Nakagyō-ku, Yamazakichō, 京都BAL

Details

Wi-fi: Not Available
Electrical outlet: Not Available

Price : 800¥-1500¥/person

 

Leave a Reply

